Considering the Possibility: I May Never Get Married

Standard

People get angry when I say things like, “If I get married,” and correct me–almost angrily–with the words, “WHEN! WHEN you get married!” This is a good post summing up my thoughts on the subject.

I Kissed My Date Goodnight

It’s good to have goals. It’s healthy to plan and work toward accomplishing things you want in life.

But what if the goal is something hoped for, yet not promised?

110263I’m talking, of course, about marriage. As a little girl, a teenager, a young adult, marriage was a given. There was never an if, but rather a whenwhen I get married, when I have kids.

Now older, I see a bigger picture with more possibilities. And one of those possibilities is that I will never get married. It’s hard to swallow, but if I’m being a realist, I have to consider it. My parents refuse to believe it. Apparently if I pray hard enough or expand my horizons or agree to date someone I’m not interested in, love will blossom.

It just hasn’t happened yet.

I cannot count on both hands and both feet the number of…

View original post 382 more words

One thought on “Considering the Possibility: I May Never Get Married

Leave a Reply

