Joy to the World

Standard

I like to think of life as a journey. I understand that sounds super cliché and cheesy, but it’s true. One of the (admittedly more annoying) aspects of my character is that I try to be optimistic and find good in everything.

I remember once when I was a kid on a hayride at night with a group of friends. Someone pointed out a black, boarded up house and began to tell a story about how he had heard that it was haunted.

I frowned at this suggestion, worried that the owners and/or the actual house might be hurt over those allegations. I decided to try to find a way to redeem the situation. “I don’t think it’s haunted,” I defended it stoutly.

“Really? Then how come the old lady that lived there hasn’t been seen coming in or going out in 25 years?” he challenged.

I remember scrambling for an answer. “Maybe she hasn’t been seen because she just…died in the house a few years ago…or something.”

I believe his response to my proposition was something along the lines of, “That’s what would make it haunted, doofus.”

It was annoying to people when I was seven. It’s still annoying to them 15 years later.

Now, I am not an Amy Adams from Enchanted type of person; I do complain. Things irritate me. I get crabby, especially and inexplicably on Thursdays. I just don’t really like to dwell on negative aspects of my life because I have too many things to be thankful for.

I guess the world has enough negative aspects that already fight to try to steal my joy without me allowing them to by dwelling on what I’m not happy about. This does not mean I stick my head in the sand or ignore features that are wrong or need changing. Life is beautiful, but it is also difficult, and we, especially as Christians, should be fighting against the injustice, pain, and poverty that is so prevalent not only in our society, but also in the world as a whole. Sometimes, however, there comes a point in life where we need to stop complaining about things that need to be changed and just be the change ourselves.

What would happen if, instead of focusing on what displeased us, we focused on our blessings?

I’ll change the Patrick Dempseys of the world yet.

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 6.02.45 PM

2 thoughts on “Joy to the World

Leave a Reply

